In September 2019, Vemo 99 Ltd was successfully re-certified according to the Kosher standard, which conforms that our high quality products comply with the strict dietary standards of traditional Jewish law.
Kashrut (also kashruth or kashrus, כַּשְׁרוּת) is a set of dietary laws dealing with the foods that Jews are permitted to eat and how those foods must be prepared according to Jewish law. Food that may be consumed is deemed kosher (/ˈkoʊʃər/ in English, Yiddish: כּשר), from the Ashkenazi pronunciation of the Hebrew term kashér (כָּשֵׁר), meaning “fit” (in this context: “fit for consumption”).
Although the details of the laws of kashrut are numerous and complex, they rest on a few basic principles:
- Only certain types of mammals, birds and fish meeting specific criteria are kosher; the consumption of the flesh of any animals that do not meet these criteria, such as pork and shellfish, is forbidden
- Kosher mammals and birds must be slaughtered according to a process known as shechita; blood may never be consumed and must be removed from meat by a process of salting and soaking in water for the meat to be permissible for use
- Meat and meat derivatives may never be mixed with milk and milk derivatives: separate equipment for the storage and preparation of meat-based and dairy-based foods must be used
Every food that is considered kosher is also categorized as follows:
- “Meat” products (also called b’sari or fleishig) are those that contain kosher meat, such as beef, bison or lamb, kosher poultry such as chicken, goose, duck or turkey, or derivatives of meat, such as animal gelatin; non-animal products that were processed on equipment used for meat or meat-derived products must also be considered as meat (b’chezkat basar)
- “Dairy” products (also called halavi or milchig) contain milk or any derivatives such as butter or cheese; non-dairy products that were processed on equipment used for milk or milk-derived products must also be considered as milk (b’chezkat halav)
- Pareve products contain neither meat, nor milk nor their respective derivatives, and include foods such as fish, eggs, grains, fruit and produce; they remain parev if they are not mixed with or processed using equipment that is used for any meat or dairy products.